Anything Lime



The sister I never had. If you don’t count all of my sisters. You know what I mean.

A few weeks ago I sent out letters to some of my favorite people asking them if they’d be attendants at my wedding. And as I got their responses one by one, I was reminded how truly beautiful it is to travel through life and meet one magnificent person at a time. It is, in a way, the closest I’ve gotten to building my own family.

One of the greatest people I know, Krystle, came down here for a visit. Our time was mostly spent catching up and talking for hours. The first night she was here, we were up gabbing until three in the morning. This visit just further proved how much she means to me.

The main reason for her visit, other than we’d gone far too long without seeing each other, was to be my partner in the search for the perfect dress. So, before she got here, I went to a few places to prepare for what I knew would be a weekend of corsets and bustles and lace.

A few days before Krystle arrived, I went to a bridal boutique after work to get a feel for the type of gown I was looking for. It didn’t take long, in fact, I wanted the first dress I put on. And not just because it was the first dress I tried on, but because it was the most glorious thing that had ever touched my freshly exfoliated skin.

And while the price tag said $6,000, the feeling I got from being in that dress was priceless. But when reality set back in, I changed and went home. Because who would spend $6,000 on a dress? Fine, I would. But I just don’t have it. My budget was a quarter of that. (More about my first bridal salon experience here).

So, head hanging and heartbroken, I headed home to think up a get-rich-quick scheme that could pay for my dream dress. When Patrick told me that I’d look beautiful in anything, I pulled the back of his shirt over his head and pushed him to the floor. Krystle told me not to worry, that we’d find a version of the dress within my price range. That’s why she’s a bridesmaid and he is not. That, plus he said no.

So the day after she got into town, we headed out early to St. Petersburg in hopes of finding that perfect wanna-be wedding dress. It was better than I could have imagined, really, because the dress I got is more my style, fits so well, is more (justifiably) affordable and is the most perfect thing I could ever put on. Did I mention it looks EXACTLY like the $6,000 dress? I know, my life is officially perfect (especially since my discovery of No Pudge Fudge Brownies!).

Krystle, Patrick, Kya and I celebrated by shoving our faces with pizza and bread sticks (except for Kya, of course, who ate dog food). Buying this dress was the first big step that has been taken toward our wedding. It’s becoming so real to me, and I couldn’t be more thrilled that Krystle was the one who was with me, the one who cried when I put on what she has deemed my “wow dress.”

What I love about my friendship with Krystle is that we are able to always pick up just where we left off. Every time we get together, I’m reminded of all the reasons why I love her.

The weekend was filled with tidbits of wedding planning, and we capped off a few good days together with a great meal at her cousin’s restaurant, Cariera’s.

One of the worst things in the world is to pull your car up to the curb at the airport and watch the back of a person you love as he or she walks away and the distance between you increases. And all you want is just a little more time. I hate that, and when I saw Krystle walk away from me and fade into the crowd, it was overwhelming how empty a part of me felt.

And though I was filled with sadness, I was also filled with hope, because if there’s one thing I’ve learned about my relationship with Krystle, it’s that our friendship can shorten the long distance between us. Our sisterhood can shorten the long distance between us.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Krystle says:

    Thank you so much for writing such nice things about our friendship. That meant so much to me and everything you said was exactly how i feel as well. The part abou the airport was deadon…i actually cried once i entered the airport because i just knew how much i was going to miss you and how i just wasnt ready to leave you yet. I love you so much and i am so happy that i got to be there with you to buy the perfect wedding dress, your WOW dress!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

