Anything Lime



And the award goes to…

A couple of months ago I was nominated for an Emmy award for a public service announcement I created for the Indiana Department of Homeland Security. The PSA, which sent a message about having a plan for your pets in emergency situations, tackled the sensitive issue of a boy losing his dog in a flood. The family wasn’t prepared and didn’t have a plan for what to do with their dog in case of such a situation. The video and audio crews were really great to work with, as well as the actor who played the little boy. He should put in a call to Mr. Hollywood Movie Producer, because this kid is going places! Such raw emotion at the ripe ol’ age of 7!

Anyway, the reason I’m mentioning this is because so few people realize that PSAs are relatively inexpensive to make, free to air, and they can make a difference. I have been thinking of creating a PSA campaign that examines cruel acts toward animals.

I want to put things into perspective. I’ll use raw footage, little to no editing, just the honest reactions of people. For instance, my recent near-death experience made me realize how sad it is to shock a dog for barking. For that PSA, I would walk around a busy place, maybe a park on a Saturday, and offer shock collars to mothers with babies. “Here, you want to sleep through the night? This will silence your child.” When people turn me away, and call the police because they’re disgusted and believe me to be absolutely crazy, that’s where the commercial will end. I think it will speak volumes. Animals feel pain too.

Oh, and as for the Emmy, either I won the award and haven’t yet been notified, or I didn’t win the award. I’d like to believe it’s the former.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * samueltolmanmills says:

    I think for you PSA on animal cruelty, you should hire Ice T; the video will be a 3-second clip of him pointing to the camera and saying “We’re coming for you” in that very intimidating way of his.

    If he’s as believable in the video as he is on Law & Order, people will think twice about hurting animals.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Ash says:

    you were seriously nominated for an emmy?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * anythinglime says:

    To my understanding, the awards are distributed by region, and I was nominated in the PSA category in the following chapter: Lower Great Lakes Chapter Emmy® Awards.
    I haven’t heard anything since the entry, so I’m pretty sure that means my award is in the mail. Or maybe I’m the guest of honor at a secret luncheon where I’ll be presented with my award. Every night I go in my apartment I assume it’s a surprise party in there to celebrate my beating the girl who plays the main character on General Hospital, but it never happens. One of these days, though… one of these days.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

