Anything Lime



…And then 50 Cent came banging down my door

Last night I got myself into a situation that ended up scaring me so bad that I had feelings inside me that I haven’t felt in years. For lack of wanting to talk about it (I don’t even really want to write this entry), this post will be written as nothing more than just an entry to continue in this process of chronicling my life.

A neighborhood dog, Dixie, has owners who don’t care whether she runs wild in the parking lot and gets run over or disappears, or whatever. This is made clear to me by their lack of properly caring for her, the way she always looks a bit too thin, the way they let her out to WALK HERSELF around the park and the way they force her to wear a collar that shocks her whenever she makes a peep.

So while she was running free yesterday, a I helped a few of the neighborhood kids while they rounded her up and went to the family to get her leash. The owners surrendered the leash, because these kids take her on daily walks for free. The whole situation is so irritating to me.

Kya and I went out to the park for some good ol’ ball chasing and we met up with the boys, Bryce and Kamili, who were playing with Dixie the wanderer. The two dogs were growling and playing together, which became unbearable to witness when Dixie made a small bark and then jumped as though she’d been startled. I assumed it was her shock collar, which I then removed so that the two dogs could finish their romp in the park.

Some of the kids in the park asked me why I removed the collar. I explained to them exactly what it was, what it does and why it’s cruel to have a dog and not expect it to bark. Or cough. Or sneeze. Or yawn out loud. It was heart wrenching for me.

One of the neighborhood boys said, “We shouldn’t put this back on her.” I agreed, mentioning that it would be easy to just leave it there and tell them it must have fallen off in the park. Either way, playtime was over for Kya, and we headed in to get some food.

Not ten minutes later, an intimidating man with a few “embellishments” in his grill (including a gold “N”) came to my door, enraged. Kamili was with him.

I opened the door, who knows why, to the meanest man I’d ever met. He was insisting on entering my apartment to “tear the place apart” until he found the collar. I wasn’t sure what had happened to it at that point, but I could tell by Kamili’s face that he had disposed of it.

“I don’t have it. Last time I saw it, it was in the park. I took it off so that Dixie could play. I’m sorry.” Then he screamed at me, getting uncomfortably close and stepping into the entrance of my apartment, arms flailing. with him were his girlfriend and her baby. Classy.

Kamili crept past him into my apartment, and hid behind the door. I can’t imagine how scary it must have been for this man to have yelled at him, because I’m an adult and he definitely had me shaken up. Kamili whispered to me that he’d thrown it into the dumpster. I told them that, while I didn’t do it, someone had thrown it away.

I climbed into the dumpster, not even armed with some Lysol wipes or a bottle of Clorox Anywhere Spray, and I snatched up the collar. I gave it back to him, and he proceeded to scream at me even more, telling me that I shouldn’t be surprised to come home tomorrow and find my dog missing. And telling me that he was going to “get me for this.” I lost my cool for only a minute when I asked him “Where were you when your dog was in the middle of the street, prancing around in her inhumane collar, blending in with the pavement, ALMOST BEING RUN OVER!!” and he was like “WHERE THE FUCK WERE YOU?!” And I looked at him with a look that said “DUH,” then answered, “I just told you! I was the one who was standing there, looking at her, wondering why her owners aren’t abiding by the leash laws. I was the one who chased her out of the street before the boys corralled her. You should be thanking me, this isn’t the first time I’ve saved your dog’s life.” I walked away, there was just no reasoning with him. I threw my hands up, completely exhausted, and said, “I’m walking away. This is over.”

And he yelled, along with various profanities, “This ain’t over! You just wait and see how this ain’t over. You fucking bitch. I’ll steal your fucking dog! You wait and see! This AIN’T over! BITCH!”

I became hysterical, as anyone would. I spent the night at Hotel Kotilinek, my friend Craig’s house. Kya became well-acquainted with his new puppy, Thurston, who spent the entire time launching himself into the air and latching onto Kya’s neck. I realized just how distraught I was when an adorable puppy licking my face couldn’t ease my anxiety.

I’m back at work now, still feeling uneasy about the whole situation. Didn’t sleep at all, which probably means that he shook it off just as easily as all of the bullshit flowed from his mouth, but it’s not so easy for me. It’s staying with me, and I just can’t seem to shake it. I hope this all blows over soon. I hate feeling as though I can’t go home.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. And the award goes to… « Anything Lime pingbacked on 9 years, 2 months ago

Comments

  1. * samueltolmanmills says:

    Whitney, I would call the police. That is harassment. He has no right to enter your apartment, or to threaten you. That is ridiculous.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * anythinglime says:

    I called the police. The cop said that it’s not a threat until he says, “I’m gonna kill you” or “cut you” or something to that effect. I’m sure the police get a lot of calls like mine the night before they get a 911 call that someone was murdered.
    He said that while mean words were exchanged, it wasn’t a threat. He said my strategy is to be passive, don’t talk to him or interact with him at all, and if he comes to my place I should call 911, and they could get him for trespassing. This is one of the most terrifying things that’s ever happened to me.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * ashley mills says:

    Something needs to be done about this. Give me the number to the police station you called. Then give me the name of who you talked to. I might also need the name of your complex and the apartment number for that fucking piece of shit who threatened you. I’ll call the police myself and warn them of the consequences they could face if they continue to ignore this situation.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * ashley mills says:

    Seriously.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Allison says:

    That is absolutely horrifying. It is so painful to see people treat their animals that way (same goes for children), and to know that you can’t really do anything about it unless you see them practically murdering their animal (or child). You did what seemed to be the humane thing to do, and some psycho is violating your security. Are you sure he didn’t say something about wanting to cut you?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Christine says:

    I’ve had a similar situation with my neighbor upstairs. He has three large dogs (over 30lbs) in a very small 2 bedroom. They constantly bark and knock over their furniture, not to mention that its a very unhealthy environment for the animals. They also let the dogs walk around unleashed, and in the winter they locked them out of apartment for hours, which esp concerned me because of the extreme weather in the winter. After a few emails to some of my animal rights friends they recommended talking with some protection groups out here (Chicago) like the Anti-Cruelty Society, which lead me to this information:

    http://www.anticruelty.org/site/epage/36621_576.htm

    Now obviously the laws are probably different per state but what I started to do is document the offenses so that if need be I could have evidence of abuses. I take pictures with the camera on my phone mostly and save them right away on my computer with the date on them.

    What I would recommend is notify your landlord of the person just so they are aware. Its also helpful to document it with the police and other 3rd parties like your landlord so if the harassment does continue and it comes down to an legal issue, you at least have that impartial 3rd party documentation. I would also talk to your next door neighbors, esp if they are home at hours that you are not, just to let them know that you were threatened by this person and they can keep an eye out.

    Good luck!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

