Anything Lime



I’m bringing hickeys back

If I’m not the world record holder for number of hickeys on a person, then there are some sick people out there.

Ever read the book “If I Ran The Zoo” by Dr. Seuss? The main character has the same complexion. The resemblance is uncanny.

I had my first cupping treatment today. Cupping is an technique used in Eastern medicine to remove the tension out of a body by literally sucking it out. The cups are suctioned to the tense area, or moved about in a way that releases the bad blood and in turn new blood can flow in. And, in case you’re not willing to trust me that this is, in fact, a legitimate procedure, trust Gwyneth Paltrow, who gets this treatment regularly. Yet another reason why people often have trouble distinguishing between us.

It was a good idea for me given the tense state I was in, but it would have been better had it not meant returning to work looking as though I’d spent my lunch break face down in a field of stampeding water buffalo. I’m sitting here in my awkward cubicle, hickeys pointed toward the coworkers, and I’m doing that thing where I pretend that nothing is wrong even though SOMETHING IS CLEARLY WRONG! I am a living, breathing pepperoni pizza, and there’s just no denying that.

Had I known this was how my session was going to go, I wouldn’t have chosen a sleeveless shirt to wear to work today. Because, duh, who would opt into a situation like this? With Patrick out of town, I’ve clenched and ground my way around Orlando, and the tension in my jaw and face is collecting in my neck and shoulders. Something needed to be done, so my doctor chose this cupping treatment.

I’ve seen it done on Patrick, and it left six spots on his lower back. All were perfect circles, his back was symmetrical, none of his spots were noticeable. My treatment, however, was much more intensified. It left about three zillion marks, all over, varying in color and size and there are bruises up and down my back from having the cups pressed and dragged along my flesh.

I arrived there today feeling absolutely twisted and turned in knots, and left feeling much better, but at the cost of being much more spotted. Honestly? It’s totally worth it. Trading pain for spots sounds like one hell of a deal!

Who says a human back isn’t meant to be covered in hickeys? Regardless, I’m definitely rethinking this tank top.

*Note, the cupping scale: Darker spots = more tension, lighter spots = less tension.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A happy acuversary « Anything Lime pingbacked on 9 years, 1 month ago

Comments

  1. * ashley mills says:

    Hey, I have totally been there. I used to “get cupped” all the time when I danced. I rocked the hickeys in my leotard. Super cool.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * anythinglime says:

    You WOULD find a way to take this away from me, Ashley.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * ashley mills says:

    Kelsey? Is that you?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Mom says:

    Whitney,

    This is just gross… hopefully they will all dissipate if not you will have those unsightly red blood moles all over!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Matthew says:

    My Goodness!

    How is it working now a few days later?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  6. * anythinglime says:

    I’m feeling good! The tension is gone — it’s incredible! :)
    The hickeys are fading. They take about a week. I had a few really dark ones because I was REALLY tense. Those are still pretty dark, but they’ll be gone in a few more days (regardless of what my paranoid mother thinks!).

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  7. Great information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance
    (stumbleupon). I’ve book-marked it for later!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

