Anything Lime



Pick your battle: Fighting in Iraq or fighting student debt

In a “Rock the Vote” newsletter I received today, I was reminded of yet another reason why it is extremely important to vote in the upcoming presidential election. Projected Iraq spending for next year alone would provide scholarships for 21,552,257 American students. What would YOU rather spend your money on?

One might think I’m biased because I know what it’s like to be swimming in student debt, but I do know the kind of sadness this country has faced. I, too, cried as the towers fell on September 11th. I also got a good perspective on all of this, beginning with my inability to vote in the election just prior to the terrorist attacks, and my peers ending up oversees.

That’s right, I was just 17 years old when the towers fell. But even now, six and a half years later, there are people on the front lines who were much younger than I was. Our teachers did the best they could to protect our innocent eyes and hearts from the hatred we felt on that horrible day. They even did their best to censor the news updates. It was an attempt to protect us from the truth, that the world is a place where there is sorrow and hatred.

My generation grew up to be more patriotic because of what happened to us, and as a result, we grew from scarred victims to powerful Americans. Many are fighting in Iraq right now rather than being at home with their families to celebrate their 19th or 21st or 23rd birthdays. We should get our priorities straight, get our boys home, and focus on their lives after this war.

Five years, 4,000 American fatalities and three trillion dollars since our country was declared in a state of war, we still have 158,000 troops overseas who spend holidays alone and miss the births and deaths of family members. Among them are young soldiers who were only 11 or 12 years old during the September 11th attacks. They could be attending college but instead chose to join the armed forces. They’ve never even voted for a president. These kids deserve an education and a future.

21,552,257. Think about it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Ash says:

    Hey, just a side note… the towers fell on September 11, 2001. It’s been 6 and a half years, not five. And you weren’t 16 five years ago. That would only make you 21.

    Did I miss something?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. * anythinglime says:

    Ash,
    Thanks for your comments. I was a little confused. I was mixing up the time span between the time the towers fell and the time when the declaration was made that our country was in a state of war (March 19, 2003). I was going by the statistics I found that only included the past five years. It was just a mistake on my part. I changed the discrepancies in my entry, so thanks for catching those. I’ll be more mindful when I write such serious entries. This massive screw up is my blog’s way of telling me to stick to poor attempts at humor and steer clear of political discussions. :)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  3. * ash says:

    haha. No, I just thought that I had missed something, or maybe traveled further into time than the rest of the human race.
    Love you, man.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Avril says:

    The war in Iraq continues to be highly debated in our country and many share your views. Good post.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Avril says:

    … “our” country being Scotland (and Britain of course).

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

